skip to content


The Senate

The Senate is responsible for the tasks specified in 

Pursuant to Section 22 (1) sent. 1-6 of the Higher Education Act of North Rhine-Westphalia (Hochschulgesetz – HG), the Senate is responsible for those aspects of research, teaching and studies that pertain to the University of Cologne or its central institutions, or are of crucial importance. Members of the Senate are the rector as chairman, six faculty representatives, three academic staff representatives, three student representatives, and two non-academic staff representatives.  

Senate members:


  • Professor Axel Freimuth (rector)

Vice chairman:

  • Dr. Hermann Mellinghoff

Members with full voting rights:

Senator of the Faculty of Management, Economics and Social Sciences

Professor Mark Ebers

1. Professor Carlos Alós-Ferrer
2. Professor  Karsten Hank

Senator of the Faculty of Law

Professor Wolfram Höfling

Professor Otto Depenheuer

Senator of the Faculty of Medicine

Professor Claus Cursiefen

Professor Rita Schmutzler

Senator of the Faculty of Arts and Humanities

Professor Christiane Bongartz

1. Professor Monika Schausten
2. Professor Dorothea Schulz

Senator of the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences

Professor Ute Höcker

1. Professor Markus Grüninger
2. Professor Peter Littelmann

Senator of the Faculty of Human Sciences

Professor Ursula Stenger

Professor Ellen Aschermann

Academic Staff Senator

Dr. Kristina Klein
Dr. Hermann Mellinghoff
Dr. Anita Jain

1. Dr. Jan Kruse
2. Daniel Wickeroth
3. Swen Schellmann

Administrative and Technical Staff Senator

Stefan Thiel
Dr. Ralf Müller

1.Frank Bielau

Student Senator 

Heike Marie Reinecke

1. Gadi Vogeler
2. Jan Adams

Student Senator 

stud. rer. nat. Florian Pranghe

1. Imke Ahlen
2. Sebastian Wilms

Student Senator 

Senta Pineau

1. Stefan Brackertz
2. Kamilla Halemba

Members with an Advisory Vote:

  • Professor Bettina Rockenbach (Prorector for Research)
  • Professor Martin Henssler (Prorector for Planning and Academic Staff)
  • Professor Stefan Herzig (Prorector for Teaching and Studies)
  • Professor Gudrun Gersmann (Prorector for International Affairs)
  • Professor Manuela Günter (Prorector for Gender Equality and Diversity)
  • Dr. Michael Stückradt (Chancellor)
  • Professor Werner Mellis (Dean of the Faculty of Management, Economics and Social Sciences)
  • Professor Ulrich Preis (Dean of the Faculty of Law)
  • Professor Thomas Krieg (Dean of the Faculty of Medicine)
  • Professor Stefan Grohé (Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Humanities)
  • Professor Ansgar Büschges (Dean of the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences)
  • Professor Hans-Joachim Roth (Dean of the Faculty of Human Sciences)
  • Annelene Gäckle, (Gender equality officer )
  • Katharina Letzelter (1. AStA-Chairwoman)
  • Wolfgang Müller (Confidant for disabled people)
  • Daniel Wickeroth (Speaker of the academic staff council)
  • Dr. Stephan Wonczak (Academic staff council)
  • Udo Walz (Staff council of the university)
  • Dr. Ulrich Schütz (Academic staff council of the university clinic)
  • Professor Gerd Hansen (Commissioner for students with disability or chronic illness)
  • Janka Brockfeld-Mortag / Anita Cardos (Recording of minutes)