skip to content


Vice-Rector for Teaching and Studies

Professor Dr. Stefan Herzig

  • Chairman of the Committee for Teaching, Studies and Student Matters
  • Chairman of the Committee for Information and Communication
  • Chairman of the Administrative Council of the Student Support Fund 

Stefan Herzig was born in Kiel in 1957. He studied human medicine in Marburg/Lahn and in his home city. Following a Research Fellowship at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore in 1988/89, he acquired his postdoctoral lecture qualification (Habilitation) in pharmacology in 1992 at the University of Kiel.

Turning down an offer from the University of Hamburg, he came to the University of Cologne in 1995. In the same year, he was honoured with the prize of Ministry of Culture of the state of Schleswig Holstein for special achievements in teaching.

Since 1996, he has been a member of the Committee of Studies. In 1998, he became a member of the Structural Committee of the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Cologne. 

After completing the post-graduate programme “Master of Medical Education” in Bern, he was Dean of Studies at the Faculty of Medicine between 2003 and 2007. In 2006, he was acting head of the Institute of Pharmacology.



Core Team

Dr. Sabine Koch
Phone: +49 221 470  7250
Email:  s.koch(at)

Sarah Smikale 
Phone: +49 221 470  3818
Email: s.smikale(at)

Frauke Scheffler
Phone: +49 221 470 6856
E-Mail: f.scheffler(at)

Ann Christine Möser 
Tel.: +49 221 470 7330
Email: a.moeser(at)

Wolf Landmann 
Phone: +49 221 470 5130
Email: wolf.landmann(at)

Helene Hucho
Phone: +49 221 470 6180
Email: helene.hucho(at)

Support Staff

Maximilian Wähnert
Phone: +49 221 470 4061
Email: m.waehnert(at)

Sophie Lobigs
Phone: +49 221 470 1769

Linda Theveßen 
Phone: +49 221 470 1769
Email: l.thevessen(at)

Holger Wende
Phone: +49 221 470 5519
Email: h.wende(at)