skip to content

Doctoral candidates

Doctoral programs and Research Units

Faculty of Management, Economics and Social Sciences

NameSpeakerAdministrative coordinatorType of program
Cologne Graduate School in Management, Economics and Social Sciences (CGS)Prof. Dr. Dirk SliwkaDr. Dagmar WeilerGraduate School
SOCLIFEProf. Dr. Hans-Jürgen AndreßDipl.-Soz. Ravena PenningResearch Training Group 1461
The Social and Political Constitution of the Economy (Max Planck Institute for the Studies of Societies)Prof. Dr. Jens BeckertDr. Ursula TrappeInternational Max Planck Research School (IMPRS)

Jurist.-Block Faculty of Law

NameSpeakerAdministrative coordinatorType of program
Graduate School of the Faculty of LawProf. Dr. Hans-Peter HaferkampDr. Martin PiazenaGraduate School

MathNat-Block Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences

NameSpeakerAdministrative coordinatorType of program
CEPLAS Graduate School
Prof. Dr. Ute HöckerDr. Justine LorekGraduate School (Excellence Initiative)
Graduate School fo Biological SciencesProf. Dr. Jürgen DohmenDr. Isabell WittGraduate School
Bonn-Cologne Graduate School of Physics and Astronomy (BCGS)
Prof. Dr. Johannes Berg
Dr. Petra Neubauer-GüntherGraduate School (Excellence Initiative)
SFB 956 Conditions and Impact of Star FormationProf. Dr. Jürgen Stutzki

Dr. Susanne Herbst

Doctoral Program
SFB/Transregio 32 Patterns in Soil-Vegetation-Atmosphere SystemsProf. Dr. Susanne CrewellNadine Heinrichs
Integrated Research Training Group
Global Structures in Geometry and AnalysisProf. Dr. Guido SweersMonika SchmidResearch Training Group 1269
Graduate School of MathematicsNNGraduate School
Graduate School of GeosciencesProf. Dr. Tibor DunaiDr. Karin BoessenkoolGraduate School
ITaRSProf. Dr. Susanne CrewellSarah HenkelMarie Curie Initial Training Network
Prof. Dr. Carien NiessenGraduate School (Exzellence Initiative)
CodeAgeProf. Dr. Björn SchumacherHeike BrucherseiferMarie Curie Initial Training Network
Understanding Complex Plant Traits using Computational and
Evolutionary Approaches
Prof. George CouplandDr. Johanna SpandlInternational Max Planck Research School (IMPRS)
Astronomy and AstrophysicsProf. Dr. J. Anton ZensusPD Dr. Rainer MauersbergerInternational Max Planck Research School (IMPRS)
BioSoftDr. Thosten AuthNNInternational Helmholtz Research School (IHRS)
Helmholtz Interdisciplinary Doctoral Training in Energy and Climate Research (HITEC)
Prof. Dr. Uwe RauDr. Bärbel KösterHelmholtz Graduate School
SusChemSys - Sustainable Chemical SynthesisProf. Dr. Hans-Günther SchmalzNNGraduate School
Neural Circuit Analysis on the cellular and subcellular levelProf. Dr. Ansgar BüschgesDr. Isabell WittResearch Training Group 1960
Graduiertenkolleg Kölner MINT-Fachdidaktiken (KoM)Prof. Dr. Michael Meyer

Dr. Charu Mathur

Dr. Lena Holembowski

Research Training Group
Marie Curie ITN REMIXHeike BrucherseiferMarie Curie Innovative Training Network: Regulation of Mitochondrial Gene Expression
Entangled States of MatterProf. Dr. Alexander AltlandKarin KrüttgenTransregional CRC 183
Earth - Evolution at the Dry LimitProf. Dr. Tibor DunaiN.N.CRC 1211
Mitochondrial Regulation of Cellular Function (some projects in cooperation with the Faculty of Medicine)Prof. Dr. Thomas LangerClaudia BallwegCRC 1218
Control and Dynamics of Quantum MaterialsProf. Dr. Paul H.M. van LoosdrechtBenita SchubaCRC 1238


NameSpeakerAdministrative coordinatorType of program
Graduate School of Education
Prof. Dr. Stefan HerzigDr. Gabriele Schwager-BüschgesGraduate School