skip to content

Scientific Achievements

As part of its Institutional Strategy, the University of Cologne has created key profile areas with a thematic focus. From these key profile areas, a total of 4 full proposals were submitted to the Excellence Clusters funding line, all of which were approved and have been funded since the beginning of 2019. These include the application of CECAD, cluster on ageing-associated diseases, as well as the one of CEPLAS, cluster on plant sciences, both renewal proposals. New additions are ECONtribute, a cluster that has emerged from the key profile area Behavioral Economic Engineering and Social Cognition, and, having its roots within key profile area Quantum Matter and Materials, the cluster Matter and Light for Quantum Computing.

Further examples for scientific successes, that have been supported through funding from the Institutional Strategy:

Large Scale Projects

In addition to the four Clusters of Excellence, the Institutional Strategy has generated numerous other large-scale projects. A number of third-party funded projects are a direct continuation of projects in the Institutional Strategy:

Newly acquired projects

A large number of newly acquired projects are closely linked to several activities in the Institutional Strategy:

International Funding

Scientists supported by University of Cologne’s Institutional Strategy were granted substantial EU funding. In total, 12 ERC grants were awarded:

Individual Awards (Selection)

  • Leibniz Prize 2017 for Prof. Dr. Anne Storch (KPA IV, Centers of Excellene GSSC)
  • Gaede-Prize 2019 for Dr. Selina Olthof, Junior Research Group-Leader (KPA III, Center of Excellence QM²)
  • Wayne B. Nottingham Prize 2016 for Charlotte Herbig (KPA III, Center of Excellence QM², PhD-Studentin of Bonn-Cologne Graduate School of Physics and Astronomy)
  • Europhysics Prize 2016 for Prof. Dr. Achim Rosch (KPA III, Speaker of Center of Excellence QM²)
  • Förderpreis der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Psychologie 2015 for Prof. Dr. Oliver Genschow and Dr. Jan Crusius (KPA II, Center of Excellence C-SEB)
  • Exeter-Prize for Research in Experimental Economics, Decision Theory and Behavioral Economics 2015 for Prof. Dr. Matthias Sutter (KPA II, Center of Excellence C-SEB, Max Delbrück Prize Laureate 2018)
  • Carl-Friedrich-von-Weizsäcker-Preis 2018 for Prof. Dr. Jens Brüning (KPA I, former speaker of Center of Excellence CECAD)
  • American Diabetes Association’s Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award for Professor Jens Brüning (KPA I, former speaker of Center of Excellence CECAD)